Mercer Faculty Recognized at 2012 Faculty Awards Ceremony


Mercer celebrated faculty achievements at the 2012 Faculty Awards Ceremony held April 13. Twelve awards were presented at the event, which included awards from eight of the University’s colleges and schools. Dr. Adam Kiefer, assistant professor of chemistry, earned the Innovations in Teaching Award, which is co-sponsored by the Vulcan Materials Co. and Mercer.

School and College Awards

Randall Harshbarger, associate professor of interdisciplinary studies, received the College of Liberal Arts Spencer B. King Jr. Distinguished Professor Award.

For the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Kathryn M. Momary, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, received the 2012 Distinguished Educator Award. Dr. Chalet Tan, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, and Chad M. VanDenBerg, associate professor of pharmacy practice and director of the Center for Clinical Research, both received the 2012 Award for Excellence in Research.

Within the Eugene W. Stetson School of Business and Economics, the 2011-2012 Distinguished Faculty Award was awarded to Dr. Courtney A. Collins, assistant professor of economics on the Macon campus, and Dr. Sean S. Chen, associate professor of accounting on the Atlanta campus.

For the School of Engineering, the Clayton R. Paul Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Dr. Ha Van Vo, associate professor of biomedical engineering and associate research scientist for the School of Medicine.

Dr. Brent A. Daigle, assistant professor of education within the Tift College of Education at Henry County Regional Academic Center, received the Cathryn Futral Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr. Kenneth W. Revels, associate professor of information systems for the College of Continuing and Professional Studies, was the recipient of the College’s 2011-2012 Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The Townsend School of Music 2011-2012 Outstanding Faculty Award was presented to Dr. Stanley L. Roberts, Arthur Lowndes Rich Professor of Choral Conduction and associate dean.

The Georgia Baptist College of Nursing 2011-2012 Distinguished Faculty Member of the Year Award was presented to Susan J. Bulfin, clinical associate professor.