National Leader in Pharmacy Practice Scheduled to Deliver Van Greene Lecture


ATLANTA – Harold N. Godwin, M.S., RPh, FASHP, FAPhA, professor of pharmacy practice at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy in Kansas City, Kan., is scheduled to deliver the 2014 G. Van Greene Distinguished Lecture at Mercer University's College of Pharmacy.

Godwin, who is also associate dean of pharmacy for clinical and medical center affairs at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, served as president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) (2010-2011); president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP); and president of the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (now the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education) (ACPE). Godwin currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS).

His lecture is titled, “Achieving Our Pharmacy Practice Destiny.” The 11 a.m. lecture, which is free and open to the public, is March 12 in Day Hall of Mercer University's Cecil B. Day Campus in Atlanta.

“We are fortunate to have Harold Godwin as our 2014 Van Greene lecturer,” said H.W. “Ted” Matthews, dean of the College of Pharmacy and senior vice president for health sciences at the University. “His national leadership in pharmacy practice is exceptional and is having a significant impact on the future of our profession. We are honored to have him address our faculty, students and alumni on such an important topic, one that he is uniquely qualified to give.”

From 1984 to 2006, Godwin was chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice in the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy. From 1969 to June 2004, he served as director of pharmacy at The University of Kansas Hospital at the University of Kansas Medical Center. Shortly after his ASHP presidency, the Kansas Pharmacy Association created the Harold N. Godwin Lecture Award to annually recognize outstanding pharmacy leaders practicing in Kansas. He received the H.A.K. Whitney Award, ASHP's highest honor, in 1991. He also is the 1999 recipient of the John W. Webb Lecture Award and Visiting Professor bestowed by the Northeastern University School of Pharmacy and, in 2000, received the American Pharmaceutical Association's Distinguished Practitioner Award for Hospital Pharmacy. In 2002, he was designated a Fellow by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FASHP) and was designated a Fellow by the American Pharmacists Association (FAPhA) in 2009. In 2003 the University of Kansas initiated an annual leadership award for all past residents from the University of Kansas named the Harold N. Godwin Leadership Legacy Award.

Godwin is active in health-system pharmacy practice and is an educator who frequently contributes to the literature. He serves on several journal editorial boards, and speaks on various subjects relating to the profession. He is active in participating in leadership training programs and promoting the development of leaders for the pharmacy profession.

Godwin graduated from the University of Kansas with a B.S. degree in pharmacy and later received a M.S. degree in hospital pharmacy from The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. Concurrently with graduate work, he completed a two-year accredited residency in hospital pharmacy at The Ohio State University Hospitals.

About the G. Van Greene Distinguished Lectureship

Named in honor of Dr. G. Van Greene, one of the College of Pharmacy's most loyal and staunch supporters, the G. Van Greene Distinguished Lectureship program is designed to bring world-renowned health care professionals to campus to discuss contemporary topics in pharmacy.

About the College of Pharmacy

Mercer University's College of Pharmacy is ranked No. 4 among pharmacy programs at private institutions in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. The College offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.). Founded in 1903 as the independent Southern School of Pharmacy, the school merged with Mercer University in 1959 and in 1981 became the first school in the Southeast to offer the Doctor of Pharmacy degree as its sole professional degree. In 1988, the College launched its graduate program, offering the Ph.D. degree in pharmaceutical sciences. The College is one of four health sciences units within the Mercer Health Sciences Center. With an enrollment today of more than 650 students and a distinguished faculty of basic scientists and clinicians, the College of Pharmacy houses seven centers focusing on research, teaching and learning. The College's motto, “A Tradition of Excellence – A Legacy of Caring,” frames its philosophy of providing excellent academic programs in an environment where every student matters and every person counts. For more information about the College, please call 678.547.6244 or visit