2016-17 SBA Officers Elected


The Student Bar Association (SBA) held elections this April, in which the body's Executive Council, Honor Court Officers, and Class Representatives were elected by fellow students. 

Among those elected was Artavia Gilliard, '17, who will serve as SBA President – making her the first African-American female to serve as SBA president in Mercer Law School's history.  

Gilliard, a native of Georgia, is a rising 3L who hope to one day pursue her passion for public interests works, specifically in criminal and employment law. She was previously a class representative to the SBA in her 1L year and the SBA Secretary in her 2L year.   

Gilliard reflects upon the responsibility of leading the SBA and her commitment to affect change through her service. She is humbled and filled with gratitude to be entrusted with this great task. “I will remain accessible, open-minded and dedicated as I advocate for my peers,” she promises. She feels fortunate to have highly qualified individuals elected to the board, saying, “They will execute the tasks before them with wisdom, style and grace.” 

Executive Council

Artavia Gilliard, '17, President 

Jacob Langley, '18, Vice President 

Morgan Lyndall, '18, Secretary

Christy Brown, '17, Treasurer 

Kayla Chang, '17, ABA Chair

Declan McGinty, '18, ABA Vice Chair 

Honor Court Officers

Anelise Codrington, '17, Chief Justice 

Mandisa Styles, '17, Prosecutor 

Spenser Bettis, '18, 2L Justice       

Class Representatives

Stephanie “Sola” Campbell, '17 

Josiah Gattle, '17 

Steven Normandia, '18

Dorie Sapp, '18

Ryan Farmer, '18