Engineering faculty members recognized nationally

Exterior of Science and Engineering Building

MACON — Two Mercer University School of Engineering faculty, Dr. Pam Estes Brewer and Dr. Sinjae Hyun, have been recognized nationally for their exceptional leadership and excellence in the classroom, respectively.

Dr. Pam Estes Brewer, professor and chair of technical communication, has been recognized by the IEEE Professional Communication Society (ProComm) and awarded the Emily K. Schlesinger Award for Outstanding Service to the IEEE Professional Communication Society. Schlesinger Award recipients have provided outstanding service to the Society as evidenced by exceptional performance in a significant Society leadership role or distinguished performance in a variety of roles within the Society over a period of time. IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. ProComm’s interests include the study, preparation, production, delivery, use, improvement and promotion of human communication in all media in engineering and other technical and professional environments.

Dr. Sinjae Hyun, professor and chair of biomedical engineering, was selected as the recipient of the 2024 Gulf-South Summit (GSS) Award for Outstanding Faculty Contributions to Service-Learning in Higher Education-Instruction. This year’s GSS theme is “Bridging the Gap Between Personal and Social Responsibility Through Knowledge, Engagement, and Action,” and the award is given to a member of the teaching faculty who has demonstrated excellence in incorporating service-learning pedagogy in the college/university classroom.

“I am delighted that Dr. Brewer’s commitment and exemplary contributions are recognized by her peers within the IEEE ProComm community,” said School of Engineering Dean Dr. Laura Lackey. “And Dr. Hyun’s dedication to fostering service learning and community engagement exemplifies the spirit of this prestigious accolade. We commend him for his remarkable efforts that extend beyond the boundaries of the traditional classroom.”