May 17th Proclaimed “Hewitt W. ‘Ted’ Matthews Day” in Georgia


ATLANTA — Governor Nathan Deal proclaimed May 17, 2017, as “Hewitt W. 'Ted' Matthews Day” in Georgia in recognition of Dean Matthews' outstanding contributions to pharmacy and health professions education in the state and across the country. The proclamation was announced at a reception celebrating the Dean's retirement by Rep. Ron Stephens, R-Savannah, a 1978 graduate of the Mercer University College of Pharmacy. 

Dr. Matthews has served Mercer University for 44 years, including 27 years as Dean of the College of Pharmacy. He will retire June 30.

View photos of the reception.

About the College of Pharmacy

Mercer University's College of Pharmacy is ranked among the top five pharmacy programs at private institutions in the United States, according to the 2016 U.S. News & World Report. The college offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.). Founded in 1903 as the independent Southern School of Pharmacy, the school merged with Mercer University in 1959 and in 1981 became the first school in the Southeast to offer the doctor of pharmacy degree as its sole professional degree. In 1988, the College launched its graduate program, offering the Ph.D. degree in pharmaceutical sciences. The College is one of four health sciences units within the Mercer Health Sciences Center. With an enrollment today of more than 670 students and a distinguished faculty of basic scientists and clinicians, the College of Pharmacy houses seven centers focusing on research, teaching and learning. The college's motto, “A Tradition of Excellence – A Legacy of Caring,” frames its philosophy of providing excellent academic programs in an environment where every student matters and every person counts. For more information about the college, call (678) 547-6244 or visit