Mercer names co-chairs, committee for Quality Enhancement Plan


MACON — Dr. Charlotte Thomas, professor of philosophy in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and director of the Great Books program, and Felix Jelen, assistant vice president of global education, have been named co-chairs for Mercer’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP).

A Quality Enhancement Plan is a five-year plan dedicated to improving an aspect of student learning. The QEP is a vital part of Mercer’s reaffirmation of accreditation process with its accrediting body, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Mercer is due for reaffirmation every 10 years, with the next scheduled site visit in Spring 2025. The on-site evaluation team will devote a large component of their time evaluating the QEP.

“As an integral part of the reaffirmation of accreditation process, the QEP will affirm Mercer’s commitment to institutional quality and student learning,” said University Provost Dr. Scott Davis. “This multi-year plan, focusing on global education, will provide an impetus for creative energy amongst the Mercer community. Moreover, faculty, students and staff will benefit from the development of new curricula, experiential opportunities and resources as the QEP becomes part of the fabric of the university.”

Every institution of higher education that is accredited by SACSCOC develops a QEP as part of the reaffirmation of accreditation process. Additionally, each institution determines their own focus of the QEP, based upon the institution’s mission and strategic plans.

Mercer’s QEP will start in Fall 2025 and continue through Spring 2030.

In addition to the co-chairs, the following QEP committee members have also been appointed:
Cindy Strowbridge, assistant dean of student affairs
Dr. Maria Hammett, associate vice president for student financial planning
Dr. Hollis Phelps, associate professor of interdisciplinary studies and coordinator of liberal studies program, College of Professional Advancement
Dr. Susie Morrissey, assistant professor of mathematics education, Tift College of Education
Dr. Myriam Quispe, associate professor of economics and Master of Science in Business Analytics director, Stetson-Hatcher School of Business
Dr. Omolara Fyle-Thorpe, clinical assistant professor, Georgia Baptist College of Nursing
Dr. Nate Myrick, assistant professor of church music and director of undergraduate studies, Townsend School of Music
Dr. Rob Nash, Arnall-Mann-Thomasson Professor of World Christianity, McAfee School of Theology
Dr. Troy Nash, director of university assessment, Office of Institutional Effectiveness
Dr. Kathy Kloepper, professor of chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and vice provost for engaged learning
Dr. Craig McMahan, university minister and dean of chapel
Mr. David Ritchie, professor of law and director of international initiatives, School of Law
Dr. Caroline Anglim, assistant professor of bioethics, School of Medicine
Dr. Adaline Buerck, assistant professor of environmental and civil engineering and director of The Cecil Day Family Center for International Groundwater Innovation, School of Engineering
Ms. Johna Wright, coordinator of fellowships and scholarships
Dr. Etienne Musonera, professor of marketing, Stetson-Hatcher School of Business