Mercer to Honor Distinguished Alumni at Third Annual Awards Dinner


MACON – Each year during Homecoming, Mercer University recognizes its most distinguished and dedicated alumni and friends with awards in several categories. This year's award recipients, listed below, will be honored at the third annual Alumni Awards Dinner on Nov. 3 at 6 p.m. in the University Center.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Hon. W. Homer Drake, Jr., CLA '54, LAW '56

The Meritorious Service Award

Mr. and Mrs. Curtis and Elizabeth “Libba” Anderson

The Thomas Sewell Plunkett Young Alumna/Alumnus Award

The Hon. Rizza Palmares O'Connor, BUS '07, LAW '10
Mr. Andrew Werkheiser, BUS '13

Alumni by Choice

Rabbi Larry Schlesinger
Mr. and Mrs. Bill and Paula Betts
Dr. Walter Drake

Alumni Chapter Awards

New Chapter of the Year
Mr. Peter Chi, BUS '04
Dallas (Texas) Chapter

Chapter Service Award
Mrs. Amy Griswold Martin, EGR '05
Atlanta (Georgia) Chapter

Most Active Chapter Award
Mr. Taylor Garrett, CLA '13
Fort Myers (Florida) Chapter

Athletic Hall of Fame

Mr. Melvin Randall, CLA '85, Men's Basketball
Ms. Katie Rosentreter, BUS '06, '09, Softball
Mr. Dave Dresbach, CLA '86, Men's Soccer
Mr. Cliff Broxton, CLA '88, Baseball

The emcee for the awards dinner will be Mr. Tom Abbott, BUS '04, and presenters will include National Alumni Board of Directors President Dr. Liza Chapman, PHA '02. The celebration will also include the announcement of the 2017 Greek Challenge winners. 

Tickets to this highly anticipated event are $40 per person and can be purchased online at through Oct. 25.