Pharmacy professor named Faculty Member of the Year by Georgia Pharmacy Association

profile photo of Dr. Chris Klein, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Christine Klein, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice

Dr. Christine Klein, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice and vice chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice for Experiential Education at Mercer University, has been honored as the Georgia Pharmacy Association (GPhA) Faculty Member of the Year. The award was presented at the organization’s annual convention earlier this month.

“It’s a true honor to receive this recognition,” said Dr. Klein. “The members of the GPhA are instrumental in training our Mercer pharmacy students, and it’s rewarding to be named Faculty Member of the Year by this prestigious organization.”

The Georgia Pharmacy Association awards this recognition to acknowledge a professor dedicated to student pharmacists’ academic achievements and exceptional leadership at various levels. Recipients have provided long-term service and contributions benefiting the association and its members. The award highlights their skills in student mentoring, professional development, and the importance of active membership and participation in the state association.

“Dr. Klein is authentically committed to the professional and personal welfare of our students,” said College of Pharmacy Dean Dr. Brian L. Crabtree. “She pairs passion with wisdom that has been critical to the education of our students and has elevated pharmacy practice in Georgia. She sees beyond grades and degrees to the importance of developing leaders who advocate for their patients, their communities and their profession.”

Dr. Klein graduated from Mercer College of Pharmacy and completed her geriatric pharmacy practice residency at Mercer. She is a fellow of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists and a lead instructor for the Georgia Pharmacy Association Immunization Training Program, which trains hundreds of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to administer immunizations in community settings.

In addition to this honor, her peers recently honored her with the College of Pharmacy Service Award.