Provost announces search committee for College of Liberal Arts and Sciences dean

aerial view of the administration building
Photo by Matt Smith

Mercer University Provost Dr. D. Scott Davis has announced the appointment of a search committee to lead the process of recommending a dean to succeed Dr. Anita Olson Gustafson, who resigned as College of Liberal Arts and Sciences dean last month to accept the presidency of Presbyterian College in Clinton, South Carolina. Dr. John Thomas (Tom) Scott, professor and chair of the History Department, is serving as interim dean.

Dr. Kevin Honeycutt, associate professor and chair of the Philosophy Department, will chair the search committee.

Other search committee members include Dr. Thomas Bullington, senior lecturer of liberal arts; Dr. Jonathan Glance, professor of English; Dr. Kedrick Hartfield, professor of math; Dr. Sahar Hasim, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Phoebe Moon, assistant professor of political science; Mercer alumnus Josh Rogers, president and CEO of NewTown Macon; Dr. Caryn Seney, professor of chemistry; Dr. Tanya Sharon, professor of psychology; Tennille Shuster, associate professor and co-chair of the Art Department; Dr. Laura Simon, assistant professor of sociology; Karen Sneddon, professor of law and dean of Mercer Law School; and Dr. Bryan Whitfield, professor and chair of the Religion Department.

“I am grateful to each member of the search committee for committing their time and efforts to this important search. I am confident the committee will recommend a strong candidate to lead the University’s oldest academic unit,” Dr. Davis said.