SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Mercer University is represented by Dr. Caryn Seney and Katie Johnson on the All-Southern Conference Faculty and Staff Team, announced today.

Begun in 2016, the All-SoCon Faculty and Staff Team consists of two individuals from each of the 10 member institutions who share the common characteristics of demonstrated service to the institution and contributions to campus life and the local community. Faculty members have demonstrated strong contributions to teaching, research and/or service, while staff members are recognized for bringing out the best in others and creating conditions for success.

Caryn Seney
Dr. Caryn Seney

Dr. Seney is a professor of chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, where she maintains a robust research program and frequently collaborates with colleagues in the School of Medicine and Department of Chemistry. Her publications include research in chemical education and mercury toxicity and frequently involve student co-authors. She was part of a team that won a $200,000 award in the international Artisanal Mining Grand Challenge. In addition to her excellence in teaching, Dr. Seney has served as associate chair of chemistry.

Dr. Seney and her husband, Rod, have two daughters, Ruthe and Abbie. In her spare time, she enjoys evenings of culture (watching her children act in plays and dance), attending Ruthe’s high school volleyball matches, hiking and attending Mercer sporting events.

Katie Johnson
Katie Johnson

Johnson has served as director of access and accommodation and ADA coordinator at Mercer since 2017. She works to provide services to students and seeks to create an accessible and inclusive environment. Throughout her career, she has worked to build programs that are inviting to students, serving their needs to make programs, services and activities accessible to all. She has built braille production programs at two universities, served on the executive board for the Mississippi Association for Higher Education and Disability and served as president and vice president of the Georgia Association for Higher Education and Disability. She has presented at national and state conferences and enjoys interacting with colleagues.

Johnson and her husband, Robert, have two daughters, Alexa and Denielle, who are the delight of her life. In her personal time, she loves to visit family, travel, go on family adventures, hike, try new food and activities, and she loves animals.

“The Southern Conference is proud to once again recognize outstanding faculty and staff members from each of our member institutions,” SoCon Commissioner Jim Schaus said. “They are all integral parts of each of their campuses, and it’s our honor to commemorate their service. I look forward to meeting all of them at our recognition ceremonies throughout the next couple of months.”

Dr. Seney and Johnson will be recognized in Hawkins Arena during a Feb. 2 men’s basketball game versus UNC Greensboro.

All-SoCon selections from the nine other conference institutions include The Citadel’s Dr. Deirdre Ragan and Kester Melville; ETSU’s Dr. Don Good and Levi Smith; Furman’s Dr. John Harris and Hunter Reid; UNC Greensboro’s Dr. Susan Phillips Keane and Melinda Wolf; Samford’s Laura Promer and Doug Wilson; Chattanooga’s Dr. Michael D. Thompson and Will Watson; VMI’s Col. Tom Timmes and Sgt. Maj. Tom Sowers; Western Carolina’s Dr. Cyndy Caravelis and Brian Boyer; and Wofford’s Dr. Cecile Nowatka and Dr. James Stukes.

Featured photo by Matthew Smith