Sigma Xi Chapter Inducts 26 New Members at Spring Meeting


MACON – Mercer University's chapter of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, inducted 26 new members at its spring meeting on April 16 at the Woodruff House in Macon.

The induction ceremony was organized by Dr. Dan Hagan, professor of physiology in the School of Medicine and past president of the Mercer chapter of Sigma Xi. Also participating were Dr. Rick McCann, associate professor of biochemistry in the School of Medicine, Dr. Jim Thomas, professor of pharmacology in the School of Medicine, Dr. Anna Walker, professor of pathology in the School of Medicine, and Dr. Philip McCreanor, professor of environmental engineering in the School of Engineering.

Dr. Walker, past chapter president, delivered the congratulatory and charge to the new members and the chapter for its successful 10th year. Dr. McCreanor, current chapter vice president and past chapter president, administered the pledge and congratulated the chapter and its new members.

Medical and graduate students inducted into the Mercer chapter of Sigma Xi included Sahra Ahmadi, Madiha Aseem, Whitney D. Bembry, Robyn Bryde, Danny Bui, Kenny Cail, Mudit Chowdhary, Lindsey Cochran, Chelsea Fechter, Hannah Hulsey, Sebastian Hyman, Kristen Kettelhut, Timothy Kim, Jacob Kirkpatrick, Leslie Meredith, Charles R. Moss, Torree C. Nwachukwu, Samantha J. Osteen, Sheetal Patel, Sugandha Singh, Carrie Stallings, George Teaford and Matt Warren.

Faculty members inducted included Dr. Gretchen Bentz, assistant professor of microbiology in the School of Medicine, Dr. Jaehwa Choi, assistant professor of physiology in the School of Medicine, and Dr. Mary Mathis, assistant professor of practice in the Department of Public Health within the College of Health Professions.

Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, founded in 1886, is a nonprofit membership organization of 60,000 scientists and engineers who were elected due to of their research achievements or potential. The society includes more than 200 Nobel laureates and many other members who have earned election to the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering.

Mercer's chapter includes members from its Macon, Atlanta, Savannah and Columbus campuses and locations, as well as from Georgia College and State University, Fort Valley State University and Wesleyan College.

Membership is by nomination and is open to faculty and students who have shown noteworthy achievement as an original investigator in a field of pure or applied science or engineering as evidenced by publications in refereed journals or patents.

Kyle is senior director of media relations at Mercer. In addition to being the primary media contact for most academic and administrative units of the university, he serves as editor of the Mercerian alumni magazine and News@Mercer e-newsletters, and he coordinates hometown and university news releases.